Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The author claims that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean because these baskets with distinctive pattern were found in another area where the Palean baskets couldn’t have reached. This statement made by the author is filled with gaps and holes. The author also fails to take into account the various other factors which might have affected his conclusion.

To begin with, the author makes a claim regarding the origin of the Palean baskets. He states that woven baskets characterized by a particular pattern have been previously found only in the vicinity of Palea. The author fails to mention the authenticity of this claim as he does not provide any information regarding the accuracy of this finding. It might have been possible that these exact woven baskets with the pattern could have been found in some other area and the people who found it might not have reported about it. Moreover, the author states that these baskets were found in the village of Palea. Finding an object in a particular place does not necessarily mean that the people of that area created that object. Therefore, this proves the fallibility in the author’s assumption regarding the origin of the Palean baskets.

Besides, the author mentions about finding a “Palean” basket in Lithos by archaeologists. These archaeologists could have made a mistake in recognizing the pattern on the woven baskets and hence, the baskets could have well been different from the Palean baskets. The author fails to mention about the credibility of these archaeologists and how experienced they were in this area of finding basket patterns. They might have been new to this field and made a false discovery of the Palean baskets found in Lithos. Hence, the author again makes an incorrect assumption regarding the credibility of information and does not investigate the information completely.

Additionally, the Brim river is mentioned as deep and broad due to which the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boats. But, the exact depth and width of the river is not mentioned and hence, we cannot make any assumption regarding its depth. Therefore, the Paleans could have reached Lithos by swimming across the river. Moreover, the author fails to mention about the routes that leads to Lithos from Palea. These routes could have been used to travel by road and hence, eliminate the need for boats. The author mentions that no Palean boats were found in Lithos, but, he fails to take into account that boats from other places could have stopped at Palea and then traveled to Lithos.

To sum it all up, we can conclude that the author does not take into account the various other factors pertinent to the Palean baskets. Hence, we can say that his claim about the the Palean baskets not being unique is false. Therefore, these Palean baskets may or may not be unique, but one cannot say for sure about the uniqueness of these baskets.