The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author makes a claim regarding the effects of birth order on an individual's level of stimulation. there are several baseless assumptions made by the author and his statement is filled with gaps and holes. The author also makes several generalizations without considerable proof.

The author states that a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues regarding the individual's level of stimulation. here, the study is made using only eighteen monkeys which is a very small sample size. it is possible that the levels of stimulation observed could be true only for these monkeys and hence, the author cannot generalize this observation to all monkeys. Moreover, the study is performed on rhesus monkeys which can be a rare breed of monkeys, thereby, exhibiting these levels of stimulation. hence, the author is not justified in making this generalization to other individuals.

In addition to the above flaw, the author makes a statement regarding the level of hormone cortisol in firstborn infants. there is no evidence to prove the reliability of the study which the author is using, to make his claims. The author also fails to describe the proper meaning of stimulating situations. since, the word stimulating can be interpreted in many ways, it is not clear which stimulating situations the author is describing about. The author also makes a comaprision of firstborn humans to firstborn infant monkeys. here, the author compares the behaviour of humans to monkeys. there is no reason for the behaviour of humans to be similar to that of monkeys and it might as well be a coincidence that the author observes a similar behaviour between monkeys and humans. hence, this similarity does not prove anything since the author fails to mention how humans and monkeys share similar characteristics.

Moreover, the author only mentions that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as compared to their younger siblings. The author has not shown how the hormone cortisol is linked to an individual's level of stimulation. He has only stated that the hormone cortisol primes the body for increased activity levels. this could be true only in some activities and hence, the levels of cortisol cannot be taken in place of an individual's level of stimulation.

The author makes a comparision between the levels of cortisol in first-time mother monkeys and monkeys who had several offsprings. The level of cortisol observed in first time mother monkeys could only be true only in a few cases since the author has taken a very small sample set of eighteen monkeys. these monkeys could have exhibited some abnormal behaviour as compared to the other monkeys or humans. hence, the author again fails to provide appropriate evidence for his claims.

Therefore, we can summarize the statements made by the author as false claims since the author fails to support his claims with proper reasoning. we can conclude by saying that, it may or may not be true for birth order to affect an individual's level of stimulation.