In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

although, it is a common misconception to see the success of many achievers in various fields being inspired by the past achievements within that field, it is possible to make significant contributions in any field without first being strongly influenced by the previous achievements within that field. we can clearly see this in the various achievements of many great people in the fields of science and sports.

Let us first take the example of one of the great scientists whose contribution to the field of science is immense. einstein, who is also regarded as the father of physics, did not have many past achievements to take inspiration from in the field of physics. During his time, physics was a relatively new field and did not have many breakthroughs as of yet. however, einstein still managed to make significant contributions to the field of physics by introducing many new theories which are still considered as the base for inventing any new theory. one such example is the theory of relativity introduced by einstein in 1856. this theory, till date, holds a significant value in physics and numerous ground-breaking technologies have been invented using this theory. hence, einstein has showed us that it is not always necessary to take inspirations from any previous achievements, rather, if one is focused on his/her work, then there is always scope for making important contributions to his/her desired field.

Additionally, when we look at the world of sports, we commonly hear many sportspersons saying they were inspired to take up the game by watching their favorite heroes play the sport. however, what people don't realize is the fact that this is not necessarily true always. one such scenario is the example of one of the greatest cricketers of all time, Don bradman. he hails from Melbourne, australia where cricket is the leading sport in the country at present. although, this wasn't always the case since cricket had not been introduced in australia until the early 1900's. At this time, when the sport was first introduced, there wasn't much scope or popularity for playing cricket. however, bradman took up the sport very seriously and created many records which haven't been broken till date. bradman wasn't inspired by any previous success stories in the sport, he was rather very fond the game itself and hence, made it possible to create many world records in cricket. therefore, this example shows us that people need not necessarily be influenced by past success in a field to make significant achievements.

Though it is very common to see the success stories of people taking inspirations from previous achievements in a particular field, it is not necessarily always the case as we have seen from the above examples. therefore, it is quite possible to achieve success in a field without being first strongly influenced by past instances of success within that field.