Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art is one of the purest forms used to express one's thoughts. government funding of arts would only mean curtailing this freedom of expression. However, it is also possible that this funding can be useful in some cases where the country is lacking the necessary means for people to participate in creating art. Therefore, there are both pros and cons which are associated with the government funding of arts.

Let us begin by taking the example of how art flourished in the country of Iceland. In the late 1800s, when there wasn't much scope for arts in the country, the government decided to step in and change the situation for the better. It announced fancy wages and other benefits for people with artistic skills. hence, due to this announcement, many people in the country who were unemployed started learning the art of painting. This lead to a massive number of artists in the country and a few of them being very exceptional. Hence, the government funding helped in establishing the talents of Iceland in the field of arts across the country. but, around the 1850s, the government seeing the popularity of arts across the country, decided to use arts for political propaganda. this move had adverse effects, because it meant that the artists no longer had freedom to express their own thoughts. Rather, they were directed by government officials to draw paintings which mocked the opposition party and hence, it drew a lot of ire from the people of Iceland. Therefore, it lead to a revolution where the Icelanders decided they will stop painting in order to retaliate against the government. this example shows the ill-effects of excessive intervention of government in the field of arts.

Additionally, let us look at the life of Giovanni, one of the best cartoonists the world has ever seen. he began his career as a janitor in a small press company in Italy. Always passionate about drawing cartoons, he once accidentally showed the editor, one of his cartoons. The editor was quite impressed by his drawings and allowed him to publish his cartoons in the daily newspapers. His cartoons received a lot off praise from many prominent people. The topics of his cartoons were generally political and sometimes went to the extremes of mocking the leaders in the government. At this time, the newspaper became quite popular due to his daily cartoons. The government decided to intervene and took over the running of the newspaper. Once the government took over, they decided to obviate his column from the newspaper and decided to fire him as his cartoons were insulting the government. Therefore, this example again shows the adverse effects of the government misusing its funding of arts.

Although, there have been a few cases where government funding has actually helped develop arts in the country. In the early 1900s, india wasn't very famous in any dance forms. Then prime minister, Amit Modi, decided to use government funding to develop the skill of dancing across the country. this lead to the massive number of dancers across the country and india hasn't looked back ever since. In fact, india has over 100 styles of dance today and progressed very well in this field.

To sum it all up, we realize that, although, government intervention in the funding of arts can sometimes be a boon, but almost every other time, the government will misuse its power for political agendas. Hence, arts can flourish by government funding, only if the government has minimal control over it.