Progress should be the aim of any great society people too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown

Any society is perceived great only upon its progress in domains of science, technology, medicine, agriculture etc. Progress of any society is a direct outcome of its ability to embrace reasonable unconventional opinions over traditional thoughts in favor of achieving greatness. Braking barriers of economics and cultures all together setting new ones.

It is evident from history whenever man has crawled out of his comfort zones of ideologies for his quest to question more, new theories have sprung up into the realms of reality. Be, it Galileo with his concepts of solar system. Newton with his laws of motion and gravity, and Einstein with his theory of relativity each time the unknown was challenged and triumphed over. Their contributions not only were significant of their times but also are relevant to modern times as the society would have drastically been backwards was it not for them.

Another, non-trivial thought that is often overlooked is that all technologies have a limit to their development beyond which they cannot be improved and a new almost phantasmagorical method must be devised to keep progressing in a particular sphere. Computing is a field that demonstrates this phenomenon aptly from the initial days of vacuum tubes to the modern times of semi-conductor technology to the upcoming days of quantum computing and portable supercomputers each time progress was marked by acceptance of the unconventional.

Contrastingly, defendants do not fail to present the arguments of traditional methods and setups being economical and research being costly and not guaranteed to produce expected result. Moreover, the cost can at times be not justified with current scenarios of economic and social restraints. However, it is interesting to note that these conditions have been the most conducive to the most significant breakthrough in science. EV’s being slow and impractical with their ranges since their inception are now becoming the go to vehicle for the new world with Tesla leading the change.

Progress has stemmed from the unconventional and will continue to emerge from the same each time a technology hits its limit or a man wills to question more. From, the times when Newton led the change to Einstein and in modern times with Elon musk man will continue to challenge the unknown. Naysayer’s to progress will always remain sidelined post the success of any new unorthodox method. However, comfortable one may find the orthodoxy ultimate change will always be led by the unprecedented new thoughts.