Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

As mass media and the internet becomes more pervasive in people's daily lives, they have become indispensable tools for learning new things and finding information. On the other hand, due to the variety of entertainment they can offer, they are also criticized for creating distractions which make people's attention spans shorter. The pros and cons of mass media and the internet are not unrecognizable, but the excessive reliance on these tools in today's world is leaning more towards being harmful rather than beneficial.

Admittedly, the media and the internet offer a limitless amount of information, and people today are developing skills to find the most essential information among a pile of unnecessary data. People no longer have to read through encyclopedias to find the information they want; with a click of a finger they are given access to all sorts of data from around the world. Teaching young children how to utilize the internet and various types of mass media has become an essential course in school curricula. It has obviated the need for people to concentrate on huge text books to find information, once they master the skill of sifting through information vigilantly. In this way, it can be said that mass media and the internet have been advantageous for people.

However, as much as these tools offer countless useful information for people, it also offers excessive amounts of distractions, which has caused people's attention spans to get shorter. Many parents of young kids today claim that their children suffer from ADHD, an illness which causes a lack of concentration. Since there are so many fun things to do and see on TV and the internet, children tend to refrain from studying and do not focus in school. For parents it is difficult for them to obstinately maintain their position against their own children, so the vicious circle keeps continuing. This example shows that mass media and the internet have been harmful rather than beneficial overall.

Also, the value of retaining a sufficient amount of attention span should be valued over the ability to sort through large quantities of information. The latter cannot make up for the lack of ability in the former, because the former is precedes in its importance for people when they are studying or working. It is quite often the case that the information people want do not necessarily pop up on the first page of the search results they get. They find themselves looking at numerous pages of web sources, which means that if they are not concentrating on what they are doing, they could wind up looking at redundant pages of information. Without acknowledging that they are reading the same information twice, it could take them double or triple the time that they would have originally spent if they were focused in what they're doing. For studying or working, it usually takes a lot of time for people to find the most adequate information, so having a long attention span is crucial.

In conclusion, even though mass media and the internet have led people to build their competitiveness in sorting through enormous amounts of information, they have caused a shorter attention span in people, making them more disadvantageous than advantageous. Maintaining a longer attention span should be valued over the ability to search for more information.