While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that high school teachers to assign homework less than twice a week in the state of Attra. The author downplays the suggestion of assigning homework everyday from the Department of Education of the state with the backing of a state-wide survey of high school math and science teachers. Students of a district who received homework twice a week have been reported to perform better than students of another district who got home assignments thrice to five times a week.

Firstly, the survey talks only about math and science teachers. Students study a gamut of other subjects like history,polity, geography, languages etc. We need inputs from a more diverse set of subject teachers. Furthermore, the survey does not talk of the kind of homework students get. It could be quite possible that students from Sanlee get rote home assignments, whereas the students of Marlee got interesting and practical assignments that make them understand concepts better. It could also be possible the load of homework is evenly spread across by the teachers of Sanlee, wherein the students get two huge lumps of assignments in a week.

Now, coming to the statistics quoted by the survey. Most importantly, It is stated that 25% of Marlee district math and science teachers give homework 3-5 times a week. It is equally likely that the rest give home assignments for the weekend as well. So, we need to know more about the distribution of homework by other teachers. Also, we do not know the demography of the two districts. It is quite possible that the strength of high school students not studying math and science in Marlee be much larger than that of Sanlee (25% of 4 teachers and 86% of 200 teachers does make a difference!). Hence, percentage is not a very concrete way of comparison. Furthermore, we have been provided with the data of only two districts. If there are many more districts in the state, the sample space is very small. So, total districts in the state and the numbers from them would help us reach a sound conclusion.

To conclude, the author’s arguments are not convincing enough to wholeheartedly accept the conclusion. In order to make a well deliberated decision, we need a holistic survey which goes into detail about various subjects and also about the kind of homework students receive. Also, we need more empirical data about home assignments in the stated districts as well as other districts in the state.