The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The summary predicts a continued decline in the number of headaches suffered by the citizens of Mentia as the use of salicylates in food is on the rise based on the following premises: 1) Salicylates belong to the “same chemical family” as aspirin 2) Food processing industries have been using salicylates as preservatives, in addition to their natural occurrence 3) A study that correlates this rise in commercial use of salicylates to decline in average number of headaches reported by the participants.

Firstly, it is assumed that chemical compounds belonging to the same “family” react the same way. Salicylates are compared with aspirin, which is used to treat headaches. No clear definition of “family” is mentioned in the summary. This leads to ambiguity since “family” could mean similarity in disparate perspectives like smell, taste, chemical composition etc. For example, water and hydrogen peroxide could be considered part of the same “family” of Hydrogen compounds; water is a life-save whereas the latter is lethal.

Going further, the summary states increased commercial use of salicylates as food preservatives. This can be attributed to the conclusion only if the people of Mentia have been using these items, which we cannot be sure of. It is quite likely that Mentians are highly orthodox and don’t venture beyond their traditional food; or the manufacturers who use salicylates in food items could be nowhere around Mentia.

Finally, inadequate data from a survey have been quoted to support the conclusion. We do not know for sure if the survey took samples from Mentia; or if the results match with patterns observed in Mentia. Hence, it is assumed that the survey is in phase with the headache statistics of Mentia. Also, we do not know the modalities of the survey. The survey could have been as blunt as asking if the patient’s frequency of headaches has reduced over time; or could have been detailed with their questions on the eating habits, food products used etc. Furthermore, it is assumed that increased consumption of salicylates could lead further decrease in headaches reported, which might not be scientifically correct since organisms tend to adapt to changing circumstances, which might nullify the effects of salicylates.

To conclude, the prediction of the summary is specious and weak. It has been based on several assumptions on the chemical properties of salicylates, it’s increased commercial usage , a using a survey about which we don’t know much and an unscientific assumption that organism might not develop resistance to salicylates.