The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the summary of study on headaches the author refers to salicylates as a generally accepted treatment of headaches. According to the author, the number of headaches, suffered by the average resident of Mentia will decline in future due to the food companies using salicylates as preservatives and flavor additives to food. To substantiate his/her argument, the author cites a twenty-year-long study, found a correlation between the decline of headache reports and the commercial use of salicylates. While the argument might appear quite convincing at the first glance, the detail consideration reveals some logical flaws, rendering it unsubstantial.

First of all, the author unfairly assumes that the commercial salicylates are the same salicylates used to treat the headaches, without providing the reason for such assumption. It might be the case, that commercial salicylates are just a weaker version of the ones used in medicine, therefore, they might have no effect on the headache. Moreover, according to the author, many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, hoverer, he/she does not attribute the consumption of salicylate-rich food to the decline in headache reports. Therefore, it is hard to trace the influence of salicylates found in food, either naturally or artificially added, on the decline in headaches.

Next, the author assumes, that the population of Mentia remains unaltered during the twenty-year-long study. This assumption is contradictory to the common sense and it has no evidence that can support it. It might be the case that initially, the population of Mentia cosists of senior citizens, who were suffering of headaches quite offen. However, later, the population increased due to influx of younger people, and therefore, the percentage of the reported headaches declined. Without considering this option, it would be incorrect to attribute the correlation of decline in headache reports with commercial use of salicylates.

Finally, there is no evidence of other factors, contributed to the increase in well-being of the population of Mentia. It is possible, than twenty years ago the surrounding of the Mentia were polluted by dangerous chemical waste, produces by nearby factories, where most of the adult population of Mentia was employed. Definitely, these working conditions and environmental problems heavily affected the health situation in Mentia. However, later the government decided to evacuate factories to some other area, realizing this plan gradually in twenty years. As soon as environmental contamination levels started to decline, the number of headaches, reported by an average citizen of Mentia dropped down. Therefore, without ruling out some other factors it is impossible to convince me that salicylates are only responsible for the decline in headache reports.

In conclusion, to make the argument substantial the author should provide an evidence that there is no principal difference between commercial salicylates and the medical ones and both of them have the similar effects after treating the headaches. Moreover, I need the evidence that the foods are naturally rich in salicylates are not available in Mentia and has not been consumed during the study. Also, to get a general perspective of the situation, I need to know that some other external factors, like population change, external migration or reduction of the levels of pollution had insignificant influence during the study. Without this additional information the authors argument is unpersuasive and cannot convince me that it is due to commercial use of salicylates the number of headache reports declined in Mentia.