Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, the technological achievements allow people to travel all over the world and reach almost every place on the Earth within twenty four hours. As a consequence, people are not constrained by borders of their native countries, which results in high migration rates for the past few centuries.

Every individual, settled in a new country, inevitable stumbles across linguistic barriers, even if he has been practicing foreign language prior to immigration. Therefore, I agree, that, to some extent, every expatriate faces problems with adaptation to a new linguistic environment.

The first problem an individual can face in a foreign county is a difficulty to socialize. In fact, the local population, regardless of their hospitability, will always frown to a stranger, who barely speaks their own language. Lacking fluency can also result in misunderstandings and misinterpretations. Even if an expatriate or tourists can speak the language of the country he visits, he might find it hard to adapt the local dialect, thus, freely communicate to inhabitants. Consequently, he might find it challenging to attend social events, banter with his local friends and thus, to establish strong social ties.

Another issue that can arise from expatriate's lack of fluency in local language is the inability to communicate his own needs. For instance, visiting to the doctor might be challenging and prone to misunderstandings. In comparison with this exaggerated example, failure to follow local news or asking for directions sounds far less intimidating. Therefore, with the limited vocabulary and fluency i local language one cannot avoid some practical problems.

Lacking the foreign language skills, from the one hand, might appear quite discouraging for a newly-arrived tourist or expatriate. However, from the other hand, living in a foreign country is a great experience to practice language and get in touch with local traditions and customs. In a foreign language speaking environment it is easier for a foreigner to acquire new language, practice speaking skills and eventually become fluent. Thus, while I admit that the lack of language skills can potentially cause serious social and practical issues, the individual still will contribute from this experience.