Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In different times different measures of the success prevailed in society. What was considered successful in medieval times, might not be an indicator of success in our century. One trend remains constant -- the educated people usually are deemed as more successful than their uneducated counterparts. And educational institutions play a major role in equipping an individual with all the necessary skills, to ensure the further achievement in their chosen area. However, the role of universities is not limited just to give a knowledge, but to guide their students, suggesting them which subject to take to achieve the optimal performance and become competitive at the market. It is logical that the educational institutions should provide a form of advice to students which specialization to chose, after all, the alumni employment rate is one of the components affecting the popularity of university. However, I believe, that this consulting should refer to the student's chosen field of interest only, containing the information about schedule and curriculum he or she should follow to become a professional in the selected area. All other means of advising, like persuading a student to change his/her mind and select more "useful" specialization will have a deleterious impact on our society.

We all have different definitions of success. For some of us the success associates with high earnings and confidence in the next day, for others -- in achieving something new, discovering a new style in literature or art. Therefore, the universities cannot determine if the given student will be successful in this area or no just based on his/her aptitude or the external factors.

It is true that nowadays due to the high pace of technological progress and economical development, the preference on the job markets are given to STEM or financial/management majors. Therefore, the graduates of these specializations have better changes to get a highly-payed job rather than a student, majoring in arts. However, what happen if the universities start advising all their graduates to take STEM or financial majors? In quite a short period of time we will witness an overabundance of freshly graduated engineers and managers, fare exceeding the number of available vacancies. The result would be in increase in unemployment rates and the inability of those graduates to find their niche in volatile job market. On the other hands, the less lucrative positions as librarian or museum worker, might witness a high demand for graduates in corresponding fields. Therefore the imprudent policy of advising studying for lucrative majors will affect not only the future of graduates, but the popularity of universities itself.

The pursuing of the majority of students the STEM or other lucrative subjects, paradoxically, will also affect these lucrative areas as well. For example, the lack of professional artists will affect the ability to come up with harmonic and attractive design of building or a new gadget, making it less compelling for the ordinary buyer. As a result, the newly built building stays unpopulated, the sales of the gadget decreases and the companies' profits decrease. Therefore, seemingly less lucrative fields in fact can play a crucial role in the business.

In overall, it is not a business of the universities to decide if the pursuing field will bring the success for the student. The best that the universities can ensure is to provide students with a sufficient information and resources, necessary to become professional in their areas of interest.