The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In his memo the business manager of televison station proposes to restore the time slots for weather and local news to attract more viewers and to preserve revenues from advertisements on the same level. To support his recommendation, the busness manager brings the viewers concerns about the station's coverage of weather and local news, after the timeslots were readjusted in favor of national news. Also, these changes, according to the maneger, are responsible to the cancellation of advertisement contracts by local businesses. However, despite the evidence, I find the manager's argument logically flawed and inconsistent.

First of all, the manager does not provide a number of viewers complaining about station's coverage of weather and local news before and after the changes. It might be possible that the viewers were concerned with the poor weather forecast and local news before the station decided to increase time for national news. Or, even it might be the case that the number of complaining viewers decreased. Thus, without the knowledge of the statistics and evaluation of the quality and content of the broadcastsing programs it would be hard to conclude, that reallocating timeslots in favor of national news will be a remedy.

Next, the manager attributes the situation with cancellation of advertising contracts by local busunesses to the introduced changes in stations' program. It is true that the businesses care mostly about the time, allocated for their advertisement, the frequency of the advertisements and the audience. However, the businesses wouldn't care too much if their advertisements appear during the national news or local news and weather forecasts. Therefore, there might be a totally different reason for cancellation of advertising contracts. For example, the station might reduced the advertisement frequency during the national news. Since the only late night programs are considered in the memo, it should be no significant change in audience, and thus, decreasing the advertisement time is the most plausible reason. Another reason might be the increase of advertisement fees. Thus, simply giving more time to the weather and local news instead of increasing the number or duration of advertisements or reducing the fees will not restore advertisement revenues.

To conclude, the manager's recommendation appears implausible and might not be effective. To make his proposal more persuasive and substantiate the evidence, the manager needs to include the proper statistics of viewers' complains before and after changes. He also needs to provide some information about whether the introduced changes afected the duration and frequency of advertisements and cost per timeslot. Without this additional information it would be hard to evaluate the success of manager's proposal.