Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic addresses on issue of whether virtues, ascribed a single personality by the majority of people, chosen as a hero, can be an aggregate of the same features of society? While examining the characteristics of heroes and role models, the society choses as paragons of its highest ideals, might reveal the expectations and ideas prevailed in society, studying these idols might not give a clear idea of characteristics, prevailing in the given society.

There is a well known psychological phenomenon when people use to ascribe a person they interact with some features that they want him/her to possess. However, regardless of how well people know a particular person, they still won't be able to understand his/her personality to full extent, thus substituting it with an ideal image. Moreover, people use to attribute positive features to individuals they like the most, ignoring the true aspects of their personal life. And the famous people prefer to support this ideal image, present i minds of their followers. For example, popular movie stars and pop singers can suffer from drug abuse and heavy psychological problems, however, this aspect of their personality is hidden from the public. Therefore, studying the character of role model can get little insight of the character of society.

Worship of some heroes and role models can be forcefully imposed to the society. For example, some dictatorial countries forcefully create an image of an ideal ruler among their citizens. the failure to demonstrate a respect and reverence to the create image will have deleterious effects to a member of such society. Definitely, these image does not reveal the highest ideals of society, instead, trying to substitute the true values with artificial ones, to preserve its power and influence While the prevalent excitement of the generous, virtuous and wise "father of the nation," imposed by propoganda, can clearly tell about the society being oppressed, it cannot reveal the characteristics of the society.

Heroes and role models, choosen by society, aggregate all the desirable features that society ascribes itself. These features use to guide the society towards achieving an ideal personality. However, most of these virtues are exaggerated and the ideals, attributed to the role models, in some cases might not coincide with the true goals of the society. Therefore, the detailed study of these features might be misleading and misrepresent the true character of society.