The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The main purpose of the fast paced technological development was to save the humanity from most of the routine and monotonous work, making their life easier and giving them more time for self-development. Indeed, to some technological conveniences, available to the modern generation, far exceed those that our ancestors were dreaming about. However, the issue is whether these conveniences make us weaker and more dependent on the technology? I believe, that the benefits, given by the modern technology overweight the possible concerns regarding the future degradation of human race.

Let's consider the most ubiquitous technology of the modern days -- the Internet. Among the obvious benefits of this highly proliferated met work is the ease of the access to information. In comparison with the search for info in pre-internet era, when one needed to spend hours in libraries in order to find an article or excerpt, containing the desired information, nowadays, it is a matter of minutes or even seconds to get an access for the waste amount of knowledge. The high speed of retrieval and processing information makes us cognizant and independent, thus benefiting towards the self-development.

Another example of technology are social networks, that facilitate communication between people, allowing faster exchange of news, messages, content, etc. The necessity of this technology in inspiring independent thinking and protecting personal freedoms manifested during the social protests. In dictatorial countries the social networks become the only mean to control protests, which would not have been possible without this technology. For example, the activists were able to invite people for meeting via Facebook during Arabic Spring. Thus, it is hard to underestimate the role of the modern technology in facilitating independent thinking and combating the propaganda.

There are also contradictory opinions regarding the modern technologies. The widespread of means of communications results in the lack of private life, making the people are more dependent from each other. Or the opponents assert that the technology affects children’s' motivation to develop some skills. For example introducing calculators resulted in degradation of numerical skills, easily access to videos resulted in decline of reading. However, the detailed scrutiny will reveal that the benefits of technology prevail over the loses. The proper control and regulation of kids' time can help them to manage their time and their interests.

In conclusion, the benefits that modern technology brings to humanity are hard to underestimate. It not only results in preventing us from mundane monotonous work, but gives us an access to information and the global community, which is beneficial for further self-development.