The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In his memo, the director of student housing proposes to build several new dormitories on the grounds, that given the current enrollment trends, the population of Buckingham's College students will be twice within 50 years, far exceeding the capabilities of the existing dormitories. The constant increase in average rents, according to the director, is another factor, that might prevent students from finding an affordable accommodation in the town. Also, the director believes, that the new dormitories will make Buckingham College more popular among prospective students, thus, increasing the enrollment rate. Despite the apparently persuasive nature of director’s memo, I find it totally unconvincing and logically flawed.

First of all, the director expects that the enrollment rate will double in the next 50 years, given the current increasing trends. However, while performing this interpolation, he does not consider other factors that can affect the future enrollment. Most probably, this increasing trend in students' enrollment rate is attributable to an upward demographic trend. However, nothing is guaranteed that it will not become reverse in the future. Or, maybe current Buckingham College is popular among the students due to some groundbreaking discovery, or its newly adopted academic program or some other recent achievements. In other words, this popularity is temporary, and is not guaranteed that the similar achievements will be done in the future to preserve the gained fame. Moreover, the director cites the enrollment rate for current trends only, omitting the historical trends, which might be decreasing. In overall, to make the conclusion that the enrollment rate will constantly grow in the future, the director needs to provide the detailed circumstances, contributing to this grows as well as historical data on the enrollment rates for past years.

Secondly, the director states that the average rent also rises, but he omits to provide the factors contributing to this increment. It might happent that, several new luxurious compounds are build in the city which rental prices far exceed the ordinary ones. If averaged over the city, these prices will contribute a lot, thus resulting in the overall increase in the rental price. In fact, the price for ordinary accommodation, the students usually rent, might have even decreased. Thus, lacking information of the distribution of rental prices in different sectors of the city properties, it is hard to convince me that the students might not be able to afford to rent an apartment in the future.

Ultimately, the director believes that the new dormitories will attract prospective students. This statement is quite dubious. Despite the fact that living conditions are also contribute to the students' choice, they are not the factor of top importance. I am more than convinced, that

students first looking at the programs, the facilities the Buckingham College provides, the employment rate of alumni or many other factors, related to studies and academic success. It is illogical to assume that the new dormitories might change mind of the students if they find the offered courses not aligned with their goals. Thus, building new dormitories might not affect the enrollment.

In the final analysis the memo is unconvincing in its current state and contains several logical flaws. To persuade me that building the dormitories is a task of paramount importance, the director must cite the historical trends of the enrollment rate, provide me with the information about property types available in the town and their prices as well as other factors like recent achievements or discoveries, done in Buckingham College, that might affect the current popularity of the college.