“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The claim addresses a controversial issue of whether a unified national curriculum should be imposed in all schools or each school should have a freedom to adapt the curriculum to corresponding circumstances. While I agree that some common guidelines are important to follow by any educational institution while developing the curriculum, the requirement of using the same national curriculum will impede the schools from providing high quality education.

A unified curriculum assumes the similarity between schools and the ability of schools to teach the curriculum exactly the same way. However, it might not be the case, since the level of teachers as well as students aptitudes differ from school to school. For example, in rural areas, with low density population, the number of teachers as well as students are limited and sometimes one teacher can teach different subjects or teach the same class to different age groups. In contrast, schools in cities can boast of assigning a teacher to each subject. Obviously, the quality of teaching the same curriculum in rural areas will differ from those in urban metropolies. Therefore, achieving a uniformity in education would be implausible and would require elimination of different factors.

The introduction of unified national curriculum might be problematic in multinational and multyethinc countries or with coutries with different climatic zones. In the first case, the unified curriculum must incorporate ethnical differences and traditions, such as languages and history of different regions. However, due to its unified nature, these subjects will be compulsory for studying to students from totally different regions, thus, swelling out the number of classes and consuming students' time. In the case of large countries with diffferent regions, the unified curriculum must also adapt subjects necessary for these regions, for example, to teach students how to act during the tsunami or earthquake. While these knowledge might appear useful for some regions, other areas might not appreciate their importance. Thus, the unified curriculum either needs to ignore geographical, climactic and ethnical differences between various parts of the country, or incorporate all the varieties of local factors, making it implausible to study within a limited time.

However, the unified curriculum might be beneficial in terms of seamless transfers between schools and making the assessment of knowledge easier. However, in order to benefit from such uniformity, the schools should be given a freedom to decide on which subjects to teach, just following the guidelines of national curriculum. In other words, the unified curriculum should be introduced cautiously, taking into account all the possible factors that might affect differnt groups of society.

To recapitulate the above evidence, it would be impossible to achieve the uniformity of educational system in general, and therefore, introducing the same curriculum to schools might only harm both students and teachers. Instead, schools should be given a freedom to decide on local curriculum and just adhere some national guidelines to make the curriculum more or less uniform across the nation.