“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The given statement argues that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college. As a consequence of this idea, all students in a nation, irrespective of their cultural backgrounds, would be required to undergo the same curriculum throughout their schooling. Before jumping into any defined opinion or conclusions, it would be more comprehensive to analyse the implications and benefits of such an unified curriculum.

In any given national schooling curriculum, a student would begin his/her school life by enrolling in kindergarten. Progression would then take place through many sequential levels or classes. Often, in their schooling, the performance of students is dictated and primarily influenced by their environment. Due to Environmental factors like malnutrition, poor parental care, lack of proper tutoring etc, students tend to perform poorly when compared to their counterparts who hail from a Better Environment. This is particularly seen in many countries across the world. For example, in universities, Students from private schools often tend to perform comparatively better than their peers from public schools. This can be attributed to varying syllabi and curriculum as Private schools tend to cater to those students who are financially privileged. However, all these disparities can be resolved to some extent by having the same national curriculum.

Except for a few nations, most nations are made of different ethnicities and minorities who may have some special requirements. For example, if the national curriculum appears to be biased towards the needs of the majority, subtle or pronounced conflicts may arise between authorities and activists. Moreover, Any flaws in the national curriculum may go unnoticed as all other curriculum are eliminated. Having different curriculum instead of one may be helpful in the long run as flaw in one may be compensated in another. for example, if the national curriculum emphasizes more on Theoretical knowledge than practical and if another curriculum emphasizes the opposite, the society may benefit as a whole as any flaw in one of the curriculum is compensated by the other.

It can be concluded that a national curriculum isn't ideal in the long run. though it may appear to resolve inequalities, it stil doesn't bridge the gap between different sections of the society. Moreover, a monotonous approach would fail to resolve any flaws by itself.