“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Undoubtedly, education is the backbone of any country's economy and its prosperity. It is very important to have a structured way of learning so that it encapsulate students with all the necessary things one should learn in their pre-college. School is a place where a student gets to know about various things about science, technology, sports and many more. Not only students get to know this aspects but they start developing an interest in one of the many fields. As each student is unique in every aspect it should be not be mandatory to learn the same curriculum throughout his school.

Firstly, any nation should be free to select any type of curriculum but it should take care of its dynamism. If a student is more interested in sports than in science and technology, he or she should be allowed to invest more time in that particular field. As we all know the great cricketer Sachin Tendulkar was never a bright student as of the curriculum was concerned but he was the brightest in his field which was cricket. So instead of paying heed to unnecessary subjects which was compulsory by the curriculum, he opted to follow his passion.

Moreover, a nation's curriculum should be based on the needs of the future hour.Having said this, it should not limit any student from having a different career prospective. Ever wondered why an engineer in his school life needs to learn about biological aspects and about various botanical things? Most of us would say YES!Basic knowledge about such

things is important but there is no need to waste our time on it getting into the details of it. Having a same national curriculum also affects the job opportunities, because each student will have the same skill set as of others .That should not be the case as for the overall development of the country, there is a requirement of mastery in

all the fields of life.

However, having a same national curriculum might be beneficial for some developing countries. As they have multiple fields to still explore,it can prove beneficial in some ways. As the nation is developing it has ample of job opportunities in various fields so having a curriculum which would enable the student to at least get a decent job would be a good thing.

But again each student is unique, there should be no compulsion of taking a course or a subject which does not interest the student in a least way. That would be mere wastage of time.

Lastly, the curriculum also depends on the economy of the nation to some extent.Whether they are able to offer the dynamism which is dependent on their economy. So it is not a good idea to have same national curriculum till college, rather each student be allowed to choose from his interests in any field.As overall development means to develop a country in all aspects which should be the prime goal.