The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Undoubtedly, music is considered as one of the most versatile fields of interests. As the author claims that the real talent of a popular musician is only celebrated or lauded after the death of the musician for several generations which is not necessarily true. The fact that there are various types of music which can be produced in various ways just makes it slightly difficult to identify the talent of the musician. However, the talent is surely identified over the time and does not need the death of the musician.

Firstly, any musician who produces a music need not be always original, it can be an addition to the previously produced symphony or harmonies. So, it does not mean that the music thus produced is derivative in quality. Also, a musician is said to be "popular" when their work is loved and cherished by the audience, that itself is the assessment of their work. As we may know, music is a vast field of study so to understand each subject in that field and apply that knowledge to produce your own music takes time. Unlike, a game which just requires some amount of practice or luck to get identified as a talented person.

Moreover, that music produced by each musician is not original in all aspects.It can be somewhat apocryphal. Also, our history suggests that many musicians present in their time produced marvellous and laudable music but unfortunately did not receive the appreciation they deserved due to many social, political factors. However, it was only a matter of time when advancement in knowledge and ability to take proper decisions in human evolved, those musicians are treated as experts of the music they produced several years ago.

Also, nowadays talent and the success of a particular work is judged by democratic opinions. It means that a person may like a particular type of music and consider that musician to be very skillful, but the same type of music would be banal or cliché for another person. So it depends on the type of person listening to the music which suggests that there are generation gaps in the society. Even though every musician strives to produce better and better music each time, the only talented and gifted musicians are successful in doing so.

Conclusively, while it is true for some ancient music that got recognized lately than expected. The musicians involved in producing those music where somewhat unlucky to not to receive a kind of appreciation. Although, every music should be primarily original to be considered popular. It is not true that the musician must be dead to get his work appreciated.