The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Television is a basic medium for showcasing any type of information on a large-scale. It not only helps the audience be familiar with the incidents but also take their decisions. So the given argument focuses on the fact that showing late night news related to national crisis, it has reduced their overall revenue and there are complaints about the discrepancy between the news shown. The argument does not cogently explains the reasons for the reduction in revenues or contract termination.

Firstly, note that there is no evidence that the contract termination has taken place based on the sole reason which is reduction of weather and local news display.

There could have been some dispute between the television station and the advertising company, as a result of which it decided to part ways. Also, the contract may be terminated if the advertising company may have found a better deal with another television station who gave them a better offer to show their advertisements. As the argument says local businesses that

used to advertise have canceled their contracts, it can be based on the fact that local businesses found it waste of money to show an advertisement at night as it was not watched by a good number of people and their product sell did not improve at all.

Moreover, it cannot be guaranteed that if the time devoted to weather and local news is restored to its former level, it would seemingly have its old customers back. Also, the argument does not mention at what time was the news shown. If the news was shown after a particular time when the local people are asleep it would naturally be a waste because no one can see it.Also, by how much time the display of national news is increased and by how much time the display of local and weather is reduced is not mentioned so that the reason for complaints can be estimated clearly.

Last but not the least, the contract may have been terminated because the company was shut down. Furthermore, if the restored time of local and weather news does not attract the past customers, it could prove as a loss as the money generated by showing national news is also lost to some extent.It might have happen that the locals were interested in some other stuff other than national , weather or local news such as sports , adventure etc. No sentence guarantees its authenticity in the argument. Each sentence has a missing information which can be tackled.

So, the argument fails to give enough evidences to support its conclusion of devotion of time to local and weather news as before than it does now. There are many loopholes which can be explored and the argument can be weakened.As of now,there should be some more evidence about the contract termination and loss of customers, given argument does not necessarily explains the cause.