The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

"The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked and so it proves harmful for the economy and national identity of the country. Here, the argument is full of loopholes and does not explain well the reasons for the conclusion it makes that every effort must be made to return the illegal immigrants to their country of origin. The argument fails to cogently make all the points clear and lucid.

Firstly, it is unknown on what factors the newspaper editorial is based on or what were the basis on which it made such a claim. Even if the claim is true, what exactly the autonomy of the country means in context of the argument is quite ambiguous. The autonomy can be related to a person's freedom, government activities or any other thing which is not known. Also, the strength is based on the "borders" of the country, does not prove which borders, as there can be illegal immigrants only entering from some specific borders like east, west, north or south.

Moreover, the argument proposes a uncertainity that the number of illegal immigrants entering cannot be checked, so what are the possible reasons that can warranty that such a claim is true. Even if assumed true, the argument fails to offer any particular "number" of immigrants who are entering the country. The assumption that the illegal immigrants may surely cause some harm is also not supported through this argument.

Also, the economy and national identity can be endangered is what the argument claims but there can be many other reasons for the deteriorating economy and national identity which the newspaper editorial may have failed to cover. In the sense of this argument, there is no specific detailed explanation of what national identity is referring to, it can be related to anything which the newspaper editorial considers as national identity but not necessarily is considered similar by every person.

However, the conclusion that the argument makes on the basis of this unwarranted information is dubious. The threats that the immigrants own is not mentioned, so it is quite unclear what type of threats they can be and what kind of efforts must be taken to mitigate them. The argument fails to offer limpid reasons that the effort taken would improve the condition and keep the economy and national identity intact. It can happen that if the country is not sure of what kind of threat the immigrants own then it would be a mere waste of time in applying unnecessary efforts.

In sum, the argument fails to offer information that can prove the claims made. Also, it does not guarantee the improvement in the current situation if the conclusion is accepted by the country. It fails to offer many evidences that would have acted as a support to the porous statements in the argument. So to make the argument believable and authentic, there is a need of concrete information which would be cogent enough to be understood and believed.