Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In all times every government has been facing both with local and global problems, requiring immediate attention. Some issues faced by nation are quite easy to resolve without serious consequences. However, resolution of more serious problems requires an assiduous consideration of all the consequencies that might follow. Therefore, I strongly believe while the governments should promptly address the immediate problems, I believe that the long term consequences and possible problems must be taken into account.

Every developing nation faces a problem of increasing overall wellness of its citizens by fighting poverty and promoting education. This fight can take different forms, but the general trend is converting a rural country into industrial. The history knows multitude of examples when such a conversion had deleterious effects for surrounding areas, leading to their devastation and extermination of ingenious flora and fauna. Tak for example China in mid 50-th after Cultural Revolution. One of the ideas of chairman Mao is quickly industrialize the country, which lead to migration of millions of people to urban areas. This step resulted in degeneration of rural countryside, and a famine and poverty as a consequence. While Mao's ideas came true and nowadays China is a heavy industrialized country, its government still miopic about future possible future problems as poor ecology, health problems within population and depletion of natural resources.

Quite shortsided attitude while planning long-term goals can also lead to lost of cultural heritage of our society. The plethora of examples are found in history. For example, promoting a newly accepted religion, early christian monarchs overlooked destroying the ancient culture by zealots of a christian church, thus losing cultural masterpieces and scientific records accumulated for centuries. Or, nowadays European governments adopting multiculturalism and tolerance as a national policy often overlook the possibility that this kind of approach might endanger local cultures. The local traditions of different european countries and even languages might disappear in favor of cosmopolitan culture. For example, in Germany the proliferation of popular slang called Denglish, that represents a mix among English and German could result in total abandonment of their native language in the future. Therefore, overlooking this possible issue will deprive most European nations from their national identity in the future.

To sum up, while the main focus of each government should be problems requiring the most immediate and urgent attention, addressing those problems without careful consideration of effects and the possible outcomes for the future might result in deleterious consequences for our society.