To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cities are always considered as craddles of civilization. During their growth, the cities gained more and more populatrity by attracting craftsmen, traders, scientists and politicians. Ancient Athenes, Alexandria, Roma all preserved their popularity as the centers of trade, culture and progress for centuries. Inspite this fact, I am strongly convinced that cities cannot reflect the most important characteristics of a society.

Despite the majority of industrial and learning centers are placed in the city, it is hard to state that cities help to preserve the traditions and culture of the nation. On contrary, during their evolution, the cities attracted more and more people from different nations, thus acting as melting pots for different cultures and traditions. Out of this medley of ideas and values a new, culture is evolved, incorporating foreign influence into local traditions and customs. Thus, if one wants to study the ingenous traditions and culture of the people, inhabiting the area, they might prefer more distant and smaller towns and villages, where the traditions of the past still preserved in its pristine state, to the modern megapolisis.

Novadays, due to the high pace of technological development people travel more often than they were in the past. The high pace of migration contributes to dilution of the boundaries between cultures, thus bringing global conventions, ideas and culture to every major citie's inhabitant's everydays routine. In such settings it is quite hard to tell about preservation of old traditions and cultural patterns, acquired by citizens from their ancestors. Thus, one might find the characteristics of major cities not aligned with the characteristics of given society. This gap is more noticeable in developing countries, where rural population usually lives in conditions, totally different of the ones enjoyed by the citizenry. In this case, studying the cities only might omit the main features characterizing the given society.

However, we still can learn a lot studying the cities. The way how cities are planned can tell a lot about civilization. The main part of the most western cities is the central plaza, tradition coming from Roman architectural patterns, where the city evolved around forum, a place where trade has held and where news and infrmation exchanged. Other societies build their city around ruler's palace or the temple, e.g. ancient Atstec cities, as Tenochtitlan, where the main point of cityscape is the temple. The radial planning of the city can tell us about the growth of the population and whether the city has been attacked frequently. For example, the radial planning of Moscow, witnesses the stages of expansion, where the new walls needs to be build as city grew up. Thus, studying the planning of the cities it is possible to tell which ideas prevailed in the society, whether it was democratic or theocratic or whether it has been attacked by neighboring tribes often.

In conclusion, I would like to point out, that studying cities can give some insignt on the processes, happening in society, revealing its dynamics and progress. however, in order to get more idea about the past of the nation, one must include the rural areas in his study.