"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter addresses the issue of increase in commuting time due to high traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center during the rush-hours, proposing to add a bicycle lane, in contrast to the prevailing opinion of adding additional lane of traffic. To substantiate his argument, the author brings evidence of worsening of traffic jams after adding a lane to the nearby Green Highway last year. The author states that the adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway will inspire local residents to use bicycles for commuting and thus will result in reduction of rush-hour traffic. To my opinion, the authors' argument is logically flawed and is implausible in its current form.

First of all, the author's stance against adding an additional lane to Blue Highway bases on the evidence of worsening the traffic jams on neraby Green Highway after adding a lane. In other words, the author assumes that the conditions on Green Highway are the same as on Blue Highway, without providing a substantial evidence to convince that it is indeed the case. Maybe the Green Highway connects a more populated suburban area to the city center. Moreover, the author says that the lane has been added to Green Highway a year ago, without clarifying whether the problem still persists. A year ago the situation might be totally different and incomparable with the current situation on Blue Highway. Therefore, without giving a proper information about similarities of these two highways as well as the stability of the situations and conditions during this year the author cannot persuade me that adding an additional lane exacerbated the situation.

Next, the author's proposal for adding a bicycle line to Blue Highway is based on the assumptions that many areas residents are keen bicyclists. However, he does not present the source of this information. It is unclear, if the survey was conducted to determine the number of bicyclists in the neighboring area and what is the representative sample. It might turn out that only a few people were surveyed, turning the claim is incorrect due to the small sample size. Moreover, the next claim that adding the new bicycle lane will encourage residence to cycle is also unsubstantiated and mostly reflects author's personal opinion. Therefore, without the exact numbers it is hard to believe that author's proposal will be successful.

Lastly, the author assumes that people will be willing to use bicycles to reach the city center. However, there is no information about the distances, climate conditions or age of residents. Maybe it is snowing heavily for most of the year, thus making commuting to the city center by car is only possible option. Or maybe the city center is situated far from the neighborhood. The age of residents plays an important role as well, since if the local inhabitants are mostly senior people, mostly unwilling to cycle. Given any of these factors or even combination of them will render author's proposal as implausible.

In sum, the author's proposal sounds unpersuasive without a detailed information about similarity of both highways, the demographics of the community and the information about distances and climactic conditions.