In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

During the course of its history the humanity used different ways to accumulate the learned knowledge, document and transfer it to next generations. I believe, that it would be impossible for our generation to achieve such a significant progress in almost every field of science and technology without relying on the knowledge and experience as well as achievements of our ancestors.

For centuries, humanity relied on the experience, gained by the past generations. This accumulated knowledge allows not only to gain a deeper perspective of issues in this field but also develop new methods, contributing to its further expansion or even sprouting of new areas. For example, achievements in modern medicine would have been impossible without detailed scrutiny of human body conducted by generations of doctors. The famous works by medieval scientists and doctor, Ibn Sina (Avicienna)had a great influence on the European medicine, inspiring the Western doctors to investigate the origins of different ailments and prescribe treatments. This practice laid foundations for modern anatomy and biophysics. Obviously, without these experience the modern medicine might not be able to achieve its preeminence.

The knowledge and experience, coming from the research of our ancestors, helps us from spending our time to reestablishing the natural laws. Thanks to the advances of Newton and Leibniz, the modern engineer does not need to reinvent calculus to calculate the flow of the air while developing the new generation of plane engines. Due to the works by Tsiolkovsky we are now able to send mission to space and investigate Mars, Moon and other celestial objects. These few examples brightly demonstrate how the knowledge and advances of the past in different fields contribute to their further development nowadays.

However, due to the diversity of opinions and ideas, prevailing in our society, resulting in different interpretation of the same phenomenon, not all the knowledge of the past can be found useful for today's implementation. Every knowledge relies on the corpus of the collected evidence as well as on the methods and tools available for its analysis and interpretation. The initially reasonable theory or hypothesis, popular in past times might be discarded, when more feasible and accurate interpretation of experimental results is found. For instance, based on the observation of trajectories of Sun and planets, as well as on the seemingly plain landscape our ancestors believed that our Earth has a shape of the disk. Only the further observations were able to reveal the spherical shape of our planet. Despite this, the initially erroneous idea of plain Erath contributed to the further research in discovering its real shape. This example clearly demonstrates the evolution of human knowledge over time.

To sum up, I strongly agree that any significant contribution in any field of human activity would be impossible without the past achievements in this fields by former generations.