In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether a begginner has a higher chance to make a significant progress in any field of human activity, or at least some experience is required to contribute to the accummulation of knowledge? While I agree that the history is deplete with evidence of unexpected discoveries, I still doubt that these discoveries and contributions are made without any experience in the given field of study.

An expert, in any area of inquiry, apart of knowledge possesse an experience, allowing him to make correct decisions and thus, progress in the field. For example, if we compare an experienced doctor versus a novice intern, it might come aparent that both of them are able to easily spot the disease and prescribe a proper treatment. What distinguises the experienced doctor from a fledgeling intern is that the first one, based on his experience can develope a new approach for treating the disease, while the novice will apply the standard treatments he learned from books

We live in an age of big data. The amount of data collectd every day is tremendous and requires quite long time for analysis and interpretation. Thus, any novice entering in a field requires accumulation of significant evidence in order to make a breakthrough discovery. For example, in astronomy, the observation of celestial objects events can take years even centuries. Astronomers can spend their lives collecting the observational data without significant progress. An unexperienced astronomer might need some time to analyze and understand the years of observational data bevore he can proceed with some new ideas.

One can argue that experience can also be a hindrance for spotting a new trend, and only a novice, whose ideas are not constrained by rules and regulations of the given field, can easily spot a new trend. It might appear to be true, since the history knows of great discoveries made occasionally. However, all these discoveries made by people who at least had some experience in their fields, they were just looking in a wrong direction. Would it be possible for Flemming to discover penicilline if he wouldn't been interested in studying microbes for years? The telescope wouldn't been invented and significant astronomical discoveres wouldn't been done if Gallileo hadn't directed an ordinary looking glass to the celestial objects. Definitely, there were people before Galileo who were using the looking glass to contemplate stars, moon and planets, but it was his genuis and experience, that suggested him to conduct observations on regular basis. These and other examples demonstrate that it is the experience that allows us to have a different perspective on the pedestrian events and figure out the new laws of universe to make significant discoveries.

To conclude, novadays, any field of inquiry deals with significant arrays of data. Processig and interpreting these data drequires possession of some experience. Therefore, I believe that without an experience it would be hard to progress and make a contribution in any field of study.