The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue addresses a controversial topic of relationship between the wellbeing of society and the decisions of authority, questioned by substantial number of people. While I generally believe that incorporation of public opinions and ideas in governmental decision forms the basis of democracy and enhances the well-being of the country, I assert, that such questioning should be proceeded in a civilized way, to allow different factions to come to the common agreement, beneficial for all sides.

Well being of society has always been a priority for any authority all the times. Indeed, it is hard to imagine a government or a leader who is not inspired with idealistic images of thriving nation under his leadership. In their pursuit to achieve a harmony in society, different governments adopt various strategies. While democratic governments prefer to always monitor the public opinions and base their future steps on the major public concerns, the autocratic regimes prefer to follow their private interests and in general, ignoring the popular opinions. Independently of the type of regime, it is impossible to achieve a full consensus between the government and its citizens. Therefore, the general public will always be questioning and opposing the authority's actions, what matters is how this opposition manifests itself and whether is able to achieve the desired results will least consequences for well being of the country.

The rigorius opposing to an unpopular decision and inability to compromise both by government and public could lead to upheaval of violence, deleterious for the well being of the society. The history knows plenty examples when the lack of competence from the central authority instigated the public protests, that transformed into a civil war. For example, the inability of British Colonial government to compromise whit its American colonies on the taxes lead to the War for Independence. As a consequence, the Britain got deprived of its most prolific colony and the overall well-being of both nations declined. Thus, the civilized debates and consensus is the preferred way to question the decisions of government, ensuring the well-being of the country stays intact.

However, there is quite a high probability that the government, assured in its superiority and power, would be reluctant to debate with the rest of the nation, thus provoking unrest. Therefore, one might refrain from questioning the decisions of government in order to avoid any type of political confrontation. Form the historical perspective, while this strategy might preserve the general well-being of the country for some time, it is prone to development of the authoritarian government, whose decisions are only intended to support thriving of a minor clique of people in power. This kind of government will do the best to make a appearance of thriving nation while hiding the pending societal problems, as it is happens in North Korea nowadays. In this case, questioning and opposing authorities is a necessary step to ensure the well-being for future generation.

To conclude, I contend that well-being of the nation is strictly depends on the authority's decisions. Some of these decisions, which can be deleterious for thriving of the society must be questioned by general public. But one needs to demonstrate caution while opposing the authority, to avoid any kind of violence and unrest. Only via debates and discussions the sides can achieve a consensus, beneficial for well-being of the nation.