Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, people have had a tendency to go aboard for a better living with new opportunities. However, it is said that a number of social and practical problems are pointed out when people living in a country were they do not communicate with others by their mother tongue. From my perspectives, I totally agree that they will meet a plentiful of problems in both social and practical aspects when living overseas.

When it comes to social issues, a new foreign language, which is not people’s mother tongue, maybe a major barrier in the communication among their fellows, partners and every surrounding people. When they work as an office man, it is necessary to build up relationships with other colleagues. Not using foreign language well may lead to some unfortunate consequences and conflicts which exert a negative impact on their ties. This would make individuals feel unhappy and isolated in work. On top of that, they also have several issues in routine activities. For instance, it may be difficult for them to obtain a reasonable price for a product in a market without a bargain. Obviously, they should speak fluently the language which people tend to speak in that area.

In addition, there would be a vast number of troubles in practice which people are required to tackle. In some occupations, it would be rather dangerous when people have a slight misunderstanding. To take the doctor as an example, doctors should speak a foreign language fluently and understand accurately what patients say because just a little mistake in this process may lead to a worthless treatment and event deleterious effects. As for education, especially students at the university, they must read a huge number of materials to do experiments and other practical assignments. Therefore, they do not have good background knowledge in the language, they may misunderstand the concept in books which cause their fail in practice.

To recapitulate, people must deal with a variety of problems in both social and practical aspects of they choose to live overseas.