Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Currently, it has said that it would better teach children about academic knowledge to pass exams rather than allowing them to learn about cooking and dressing. In my opinion, I totally disagree this idea for a number of reasons below.

On the one hand, studying academic knowledge enable students to get good marks in exams and also have some advantages in the future. Obviously, academic knowledge tends to be required to get through exams instead of soft skills. For example, to cope with a mathematic exam, they should learn by heart an enormous number of equations which take them a huge amount of time. Perhaps this is the reason why they should not have enough time for other activities. However, if they are well-trained by teachers and study hard enough, they would achieve impressive academic performance and get some certificates which help them climb off the ladder of success afterward. Therefore, treaching academic knowlegde for children is worthwhile and beneficial. Despite the fact that academic knowledge would only help them at school and ensure a well-paid profession, it cannot make their life easy or meet fundamental demands.

In terms of soft skills like cooking, dressing, these things may make your life easier to live and more active. These abilities would be necessary for survival. For example, in western countries, teenagers tend to separate from their parents earlier, move away and live alone. In this situation, it requires them to know simply how to cook a meal or wash their clothing etc. ; however, academic knowledge cannot help. On top of that, students need to be taught about communicating skills which are valuable in establishing a new relationship and making new friends easier. It would play an essential role in their future career and keeping away some mental conditions like depression.

To recapitulate, students not only study academic knowledge but also master soft skills to survive and succeed in their lifetime.