Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

The matter of education is one of the main concerns at the 21st century. As one said, education is the only way for a country to maintain, develop and further improve the system. No one else but students are the future of the world. Now, there is an opinion state that students only need to learn Math, Physics, Chemistry and other compulsory subjects at school in order to pass the exams. Social skills such as cooking or cleaning the house are not recommended. To my point of view, I have some contrast arguments with this idea. In this essay, I will explain why.

First, lab subjects such as Math is necessary, but other life skills are important in order to enjoy a good life. The main target for a school to teach students subject is to develop the brain to think logically and enable the ability to solve any problems effectively. Maybe some can not learn specific subjects, but they can somehow make their mind work in their own way. However, Logarithms and Aerodynamics can not save you from a sunken ship. That is when the critical social skills kick in. You need to know how to swim to get yourself out of there, and to know that you also need to learn. While science helps us to make ourselves smarter, basic abilities to do daily routines are also a big requirement.

Second, learning is not only about passing the exam. As mentioned above, learning is about improving our brain. If someone has an intention to learn mechanically just to pass the exam, he or she might mislead the true purpose of studying. Furthermore, according to a research, the way of word-by-word learning can make a person become passive with their own life. They can not acquire the minimum flexibility to face a problem, hence worsening their career, or even life-or-death situation.

Overall, the need of teaching life skills is undeniably important. From my idea that I stated above, schools should use a parallel system, in the same time tutoring both science and social skills to have the best improvement for students and learners.