Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

There is a widely discussed topic regarding living in a foreign country where people speak another language. Some might argue that this might result in either detrimental social challenges or practical ones. This essay will discuss that although language barrier might result in difficulties like solitary life, living abroad would have many appealing advantages.

Admittedly, if people decide to migrate to a new country where they do not know their national language, it would contribute to the issue of isolation. By this, I mean that it takes time for people to get used to the new environment in which individuals’ communication patterns are different from migrant’s home country. Moreover, since they are far from their friends and family, they often fail to find new friends because of the language barrier. Hence, these issues undermine their emotional wellbeing and lead to loneliness.

Notwithstanding that, for the majority of people, a new country brings a wide range of advantages. The foremost reason is that people will obtain a new perspective toward the world. Living in a homeland means that people are in accord with its rules, cultures, and even social, economic, and political structures. However, when people migrate, they might encounter new norms and views, starting to seeing the world through the lens of another culture, structure, and values. Thus, it widens people’s vision.

In conclusion, it is true that language seem to be a significant pediment in communication. Nevertheless, it appears to me that the benefits of living overseas outweigh its drawbacks and brings modern insights for people who experience it.