One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a true fact that people today are living a longer life in comparison to past times. This issue might be arising from improved health care services around the world. This essay will discuss whether the benefits of increasing life expectancy outbalance its disadvantages or not before reaching a concluding viewpoint.

Admittedly, living longer might bring some challenges like providing special facilities and extra care for authorities. While people age more, they might encounter mobility problems, meaning that, for example, moving from one place to another might seem hard for them. In these cases, governments need to supply additional amenities for them to undermine the dangers of falling or losing control. Moreover, both families and authorities should allocate a considerable amount of their funds and budgets on looking after their elderly members. Thus, these issues contribute to some negative impacts for families and the community as a whole.

Notwithstanding that, development in health services result in longevity which seems to have a wide range of merits for society and its members. The foremost reason appears to be a matter of wisdom. As people grow up healthier and have chance to live longer, they grasp various experiences from life hardships, which can have positive effects on the young generation. If this generation tries to employ those lessons, they tend to be more successful in their careers as well as personal life. Moreover, elderlies can be the means of maintaining and transmitting cultural heritage. By narrating folklore and legends, they hand these stories down to their grandchildren, assisting governments to preserve cultural norms. Hence, an old generation appears to play the role of treasures for a country.

In conclusion, it appears to me that although the long length of the community of members might bring supplementary responsibilities either for families or authorities, the positive impacts of having them outweigh its drawbacks.