Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a widely discussed issue regarding using technology to monitor people's daily conversations and also tracing their behaviors via security cameras. While the majority of individuals are unaware of this happenstance, therefore it appears that the disadvantages of this topic might overbalance its merit. Accordingly, a couple of reasons will be discussed in this easy.

Admittedly, one of the practical usages of CCTV cameras seems to be for police forces. By using these cameras in public places such as stadiums, shopping centers, banks, and even private houses, police can detect crimes. Therefore, they will be able to find delinquent people with these proofs and legally deal with them.

Notwithstanding that, some negative impacts of monitoring can be seen in everyone’s life. The first and foremost one is the issue of ignoring personal privacy. Examples of this are widespread in the United States of America, where people were unaware of being monitored, and when they discovered this fact, they rioted against the law. Besides, the majority of them inferred that authorities are overlooking their freedom. Hence, they declared that they would not feel convenient while they are resting or having phone calls anymore.

Furthermore, statistics present that the level of stress might arise when people are under monitoring. For instance, employees who know they are being watched or listened find it challenging to concentrate on their responsibilities since they want to do their bests. Even though managers can detect honorable workers, they might begin to think that any negligible mistake can undermine their position at a career. So, anxiety increases if people feel monitoring, and it directly weakens their outputs and productivity.

In conclusion, CCTV cameras can indeed be employed in detecting a wide range of offenses. Nonetheless, it appears to me that it might disregard privacy and lead to stress.