One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of people all over the world have found the eternal life an attractive idea. Nowadays medical services are approaching humans to live longer, average lifespan is gradually increasing and that allows individuals to make the most of their lives. I completely agree to this statement and believe that longevity will bring development and prosperity to the civilization.

First of all, a great number of talented persons will get a chance to prove themselves. It is not a secret that any skill needs time to promotion, so longer-lived geniuses are more likely to reach their full potential. Moreover, capable people will have enough opportunities to transfer gained knowledge to the rising generation. For example, such glorious writers as Lermontov and Pushkin could create more masterpieces, if medicine was approximated at least to modern science. Thus, longer lives would enable the society to achieve a higher level of development.

However, increases in longevity (with high probability?) may cause global overpopulation. Dramatically growing number of all nationalities leads to widespread shortage of sources. Both the neediest developing countries and advanced economies will have essential things in a short supply. For example, scientists presume that with the population of 9 billions the Earth can forfeit most of its subsoil assets by the year 2030. In other words, life exaction could be the end of the world.

To sum up, gain in longevity is an incredible opportunity to cultural and technological growth and expansion of human civilization. Spillover effect would be easily solved by best and brightest minds of the mankind.