The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Reading at libraries is an integral and crucial part for the formation of an educated and versatile person. Technologies as known have affected tremendously on the way people learn new things and they have redefined the concept of a library in recent days. Although a belief exists that the introduction of advanced technologies with the active use of electronic media is a waste of budget and time, I do not agree with this point of view.

On one side, plethoras of libraries avoid using computer-based technologies in preference to printed books as the principle information carrier. Some people suppose that having the latest hi-tech media might deviate the society from the actual goal of coming, providing the destructive environment at libraries. Moreover, an opinion exists that computer monitors negatively impacts the human’s general welfare, in particular loss of vision is observed. As per the issue «How brain works» by Dubinin V.A., reading of a printed text enables a person stay focused for a longer time span as the body burden is minimal. Thus, libraries are recommended to adhere to customary use of typed editions and to strive to prevent utilizing of telecommunication technologies excessively.

On the other side, technical equipment promotes to attract more youth through rooting of interactive component. The information transmitted through the medium of the audio-visual materials facilitates to absorb the data more efficiently. For instance, according to the poll conducted by the Vienna University, people are revealed to be more involved into the exploring the theme if the read text is accompanied by the computer-based video. Thereby, latter-day libraries need to embed more up-to date technologies for expanding the readers’ base.

Summing up, notwithstanding the traditional approach to using printed literature only at libraries, it should be considered as an obsolete one. The transformation of public libraries would convert them into more beneficial to readers and researchers as they could work as centers for interactive learning and knowledge sharing. To my mind, public libraries require implantation of latest developments in IT-sphere for easing the process of acquiring the themes.