The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The issue of the state budget redistribution for specific needs has always caused disputes among citizens. In this regard, part of the population designates spendings on arts as wasteful expenses, claiming that development in public utilities should dominate. Although the role of culture should not be denied in a country's heritage, public goods are undoubtedly necessary for everyone.

On the one hand, the government should invest money in the sphere of arts, in fact advanced culture acts as an indicator of multifaceted evolution of substantial structures of a nation. Many countries recognize the possibility of cultural influence on the economic efficiency and development of society. Researches confirmed a direct correlation between the level of government intelligent development and the general level of education, social stability and a low crime level. For instance, at Hamad Airport in economically prosperous city Doha, Qatar, tourists are greeted by a sculpture of a giant yellow bear, purchased by the authorities for $6,8 million. Hence, culture plays a special role as a socially significant industry aimed at the qualitative formation of human potential.

On the other hand, the market economy is unable to satisfy the social requirements of citizens itself, that is why the government is forced to invest currency in public goods. Residents are in daily need of such institutions as the law enforcement, free education, public transport, system of urban roads and other necessities. The relevance of all of the above benefits in human life is undeniable, therefore the state should take care of their supply through rational redistribution of taxes. For example, the most efficient metro in Singapore which envelops the entire city like a web, transports 3,5 million people daily, satisfying their demand for a fast and cheap travel. Thus, a bunch of urgent human needs are the responsibility of the government, since no one else might satisfy the.

To sum it all up, the difficulty of choosing between funding the arts and public goods must be noted. Undoubtedly, culture plays a significant role in the person’s formation, and urgent human needs in social utilities require special attention.