The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergartners.

"We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter from the principal of Greenwood School (GS) states the decision of instituting an all-day kindergarten to replace the half-day kindergarten. This is based on several premises namely,

1) Students will achieve their highest levels through peer motivation and segregation.

2) Coverage of same course materials over longer duration, to address learning differences

3) Time for extra instruction in music, art and physical education.

4) Reduce wastage of time spent at home/ day-care.

Firstly, the letter assumes that students can achieve their "highest levels" by tracking and segregating students. Though high level students could help lift the low achieving students, it assumes that average level students can motivate themselves to do better. Moreover, the letter talks about kindergarten classes, where students are very young, hence assuming that their brains are capable of underatsnding peer motivation and the curriculum rigorous enough mandating introduction of such measures.

Furthermore, the course material to be covered is going to be the same, but taught at a slower pace to accommodate learning differences. This statement assumes that students are finding it difficult to cope up with the present pace. Also, it assumes that students who are comfortable with the present speed would have to slow their pace of learning or be engaged by some other activities. The letter also states introduction of music, art and physical education classes. Here, it is assumed that an all-day session will have enough time to accommodate these classes after stretching the time spent on usual coursework.

Finally, spending longer hours in an structured environment is said to be among the greatest benefits. This presumes that time spent at home or in day care is "wasted". The term "wastage" is not clearly mentioned in the letter, leading to various assumptions on it's definition. The time spent outside school could also be spent at co-curricular activities making such classes at school redundant.

To conclude, the letter is based on several assumptions on peer motivation, time management, curruiculum difficulty and "wastage" of time elsewhere to base the decision of supplanting the half-day kindergarten with an all-day one.