The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument posed in the memo by the vice president of Butler Manufacturing has numerous flaws. The claim is based on unwarranted assumptions that can render the argument highly suspect. If these assumptions do not true, the argument could completely fall apart.

The argument assumes that the working conditions at Butler Manufacturing and Panoply Industries is the same. The memo writer needs to gather evidence on the similarities between the two companies that will allow him/her to derive that the working conditions are similar in nature. There can be a lot of differences between the two companies - the level of safety regulations followed, types of machinery used, protocols followed, the skill of the labour, etc. These factors are amongst the many that contribute to on-the-job accidents.

Moreover, the memo writer relates the cause of less number of on-the-job accidents in Panoply Industries to shorter work shifts. There might be a correlation between the number of hours worked by a shift and the number of accidents but correlation does not mean causation. The vice president needs to collect more information about the organisational structure and workings of the Panoply industries before jumping to the conclusion that the number of hours worked by a shift is the reason behind higher safety record.

The vice president mentions a government study on detrimental effects of fatigue and lack of sleep on on-the-job accidents. One must take any study with a grain of salt and question the validity of the study. The vice president needs to look for various other studies that point to the same result. Replicability is the key to a credible study. Even if the study is found to be credible, the memo does not give us any information on the number of hours worked in a shift. If the workers of Butler Manufacturing are working for 15 hours, reducing one hour would not make a significant dent in their fatigue levels. Without sufficient evidence, the government study fails to strengthen the argument posed in the memo.

The vice president claims that reducing an hour in the work shift would improve the safety records. The assumption that it is a single contributing factor to the safety of the workers is flawed. The vice president needs to find more information on the numerous contributing factors to the safety of the workers. A careful analysis of all the factors would be fruitful in improving safety. For example, if the machinery is flawed, reducing the number of hours would not reduce the number of on-the-job accidents.

The vice president must be cautious in changing the policy of his organisation. Unless he/she gathers more evidence and information on the above-mentioned points to ensure his/her assumptions hold true, the policy change would make no impact on the safety records of Butler Manufacturing.