The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. The claim is based on unwarranted assumptions that render the argument highly suspect. If these assumptions do not hold true, the argument could completely fall apart.

The first assumption made by the letter writer is that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty because of the number of real estate agents employed by Adams Realty is greater than that of Fitch Realty. It is important to point out that number of real estate agents does not directly translate to a superior firm. It is the talent and skill of the real estate agents that count. If the letter writer fails to provide information on performance of the real estate agents, it will undermine the argument that Adams Realty is superior because it has more real estate agents.

Another assumption made in the argument is that the revenue of Adams Realty was twice as high as Fitch Realty and hence if the friend wants to sell his/her house at a good price and quickly, Adams Realty is a place to go. The argument is very vague on the distribution of the revenue of Adams Realty. There is a possibility that Adams Realty specializes in dealing with corporate spaces and that has resulted in high revenues. Without information on the percentage of revenue generated from selling homes, it can not be determined that it is a superior firm to sell your house.

The letter writer points out that Adams Realty sold their houses at an average price of $168,00 compared to Fitch Realty’s average price of $144,000. An average is not the best measure to compare the performance of house sales. It depends on the number of houses sold by the two firms. If Adams Realty sold only two houses at a higher price but took longer time, their average would still be higher than Fitch Realty. On the other hand, if Fitch Realty sold more houses at a good price but sold them quickly, their average could be lower than that of Adam Realty. The average price does not give us any information on the amount of time taken by the two firms to sell their houses. Hence, it can not be used to support the argument that one firm is better than another when it comes to getting your house sold quickly.

The last assumption made by the letter writer is in comparing his/her experience with Adams Realty in the last year with his/her experience with Fitch Realty ten years ago. The argument assumes that the landscape, the real estate market and the house sold at both times were identical in nature and hence can be compared with each other. Such a situation is highly improbable and assuming so seriously undermines the argument as a whole.

The homeowner should be cautious in following the letter writer’s advice.

Unless more information is provided by the letter writer to ensure that his/her assumptions hold true, Adams Realty can not be considered a superior place than Fitch Realty to sell your house quickly and at a good price.