Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Who should be responsible for formation of major policies? The prompt claims that the major policies decisions should always be left to politicians and experts claiming the reason that they are well informed about the the issues than the general public. I mostly agree with and claim and and think that the reason given for the claim in the prompt is well justified.

First of all, the politicians have devoted most of their life towards the learning the policies, formulation of policies and implementation of those policies. Similarly, the experts are those people who have extensive knowledge on specific subject. When polices are being formulated it prudent that they should be involved and should not be interfered. For instance, in the formulation of Building Codes, it is wise to left those decision to the people who know more about building in general like structure engineers, architects, construction managers, politicians who are experienced in land use laws etc. The polices that are formulated by those people will be most likely to a functional one.

Secondly, when group of experts are left on their own to formulate something, the result is bound to be a good one. As history suggests, whenever a group of highly talented individuals are grouped to accomplish something then that goal is completed within time and with good results. When experts are grouped together, there is a influx of great ideas and innovation, they compliment each other. For instance, Manhattan project in which group of highly skilled individual were left to accomplish the goal of building a Nuclear Bomb, it was completed with in limited time frame. We can also look at the example, where interference in the work of experts lead to a disaster. During the 1920s in Russia, government decided to interfere with the research projects and directed the scientists to research based on the government need. As a result of which, there was nothing significant invention from Russia from that period. So, interference in the work of the experts is not beneficial to the experts, nor the society as a whole.

But, as the polices involves the people, it is counter-intuitive to not include people in the policy making formation. But as the knowledge of the general public is limited, cannot have a clear judgement regarding the issues, it is better to exclude the general public in this process. Similarly, it can be argued that handful of experts and politicians can formulate polices that may be inclined towards certain demographics. But these things are to be checked by the higher authority and make sure that these kind of irregularities does not happen in policy formation.

In conclusion, the major policies should be formulated by the experts in those field but those formulated polices should be checked and balanced by the higher authority so that irregularities does not happen, and formed polices are beneficial to the whole society.