"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is recommended to increase the budget on the advertising aspect of the company in the following year. The advertising director has based this recommendation on the reason that positive reviews about specific Super Screen Movies increased in last year and has argued that the quality of films are good but have not reached enough people. While on the surface the reasons stated by advertising director seems plausible, it is full of unwarranted assumptions. Three questions must be answered before the recommendation can be fully evaluated.

To begin with, will the positive reviews be same for the next year? It is possible that positive reviews were increased because this year the company produced a good movie while next year year they might not. It may also be the case that next year another production company will produce even better movies than the Super Screen Movie Production Company. If the above cases are true then the argument presented in the memo is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the marketing department should provide the actual number of the people attended. It is possible that the less number of people as stated were only few like 1 or 2 which will make the case of increasing the advertisement budget redundant. It may also be the case that previous year there was international festival going on for a whole year as a result of which less people went to movies after all. So, I would advise the advertising director to conduct a systematic survey about the reason regarding the decrease in the number of people and move forward with the recommendation accordingly.

Thirdly, are people really unaware of the good quality movies? It is possible that the public are aware of the reviews but regard those reviews as biased ones. It is also possible that there are other production company with ever better reviews and movies. If the above cases hold water then the argument presented in the original memo is markedly hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author of the passage is able to provide more evidence and answer to the above three questions in a systematic manner then it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation of increasing the budget of advertising.