Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that only governors should make the decision for society. The writer further reasons that information and knowledge of politicians give them decent outlook toward the conditions, which ordinary people do not possess. I fundamentally do not concur with this disposition. In what follows, I will list my cogent arguments to cast doubt on the accuracy of this claim and its clue.

The first crucial fact which should be considered is the replacement of the democratic society instead of the aristocratic society, where people were ordered by the priority based on their position and properties. However, at the modern democratic society, the system is by the people, of the people, and for the people; indeed, the governor is elected through the public, he belongs the same nation and its national and he and his activities are for the same society. At this interrelated cycle, how it is possible to underestimate or ignore the crux factor which is public? While this system is shaped and rooted in public, there should be an interchangeable and consistent link between the politicians and citizens until the base fundament of the system could be supported appropriately.

Another striking factor which should be considered is the shortage of political knowledge for handling the wide variety of issues in society. Actually, there is a broad range of issues which a nation could face; in addition, answers to these problems are beyond the political knowledge of the governors. A lucid example which could clarify this argument with more details is the appearance of contagious disease in society. In this case, is the leader’s political information helpful for halting its contagious and fatal consequences?! Of course not. At this case, a group of publics from medicine field whose ideas is ignored in this prompt should be considered for making an ultimate decision and rescue the majority of society from the mortality.

Finally, the writer for the clarification of his claim reasons that the profound knowledge of ruler gains him a better perspective toward the issue. From my perspective, this adhesive clue is a shaky one since the author overlooks the importance of the contribution of different thought. In fact, the better decision shapes according to the consideration of issue from the various direction, and this occurs when there are the exchange and contribution of thought. Thus, solo deep knowledge can not present a perfect outcome. I prefer to give an example of this argument to give more sense to this argument. There was a traffic jam in one of the streets in my hometown which is the main access and located in the center of the city. The mayor of Tabriz decided to build a flyover in that region to reduce the load of traffic and its consequence air and sound pollution. While at the first glance this decision sounds like the wise and effective option, during its construction process lots of buildings near the construction site were demolished for preparing the required base for the construction. This apparently suitable option ends to homelessness of some poor people in that region.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments illustrate my attitude toward this claim and its reason. I do not agree with this prompt as it stands on the shaky reason.