The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the letter believes that Parson City takes its public education more seriously than Blue City, a city with a similar total population, based on the proportion and overall amount of tax revenue that is spent on its public schools. This argument is lacking sufficient evidence to properly corroborate its claims.

Primarily, the argument lacks any data about the current state and quality of the public schools in both cities. If the public education in Blue City is already well-developed and well-maintained, then perhaps it does not need as much of tax revenue as compared to a city with public education of lower quality. If the schools in Parson City lack many of the required amenities, they would clearly need more funding in order to improve. Without any data about the current state of the schools in these cities, it cannot be conclusively inferred that Parson City takes its education more seriously than Blue City. Hence, in order to improve the writer's claim, there needs to be some statistics about the standard of education and facilities of the public schools in both the cities, which can conclusively prove that the extra revenue devoted to the public schools in Parson City is linked to a higher standard of education than the public schools of Blue City.

Secondly, the argument lacks any information about what the tax revenue is spent on specifically. It might be possible that Blue City is directly funding the hiring of new staff, construction of better classrooms, laboratories, and so on, while Parson City might be spending the money more on sports events or something else not directly related to education. As such, spending more money does not imply that more monetary resources are directly devoted to improving the quality of education. If the writer were to present some data about what exactly every tax dollar was funding, it would make his/her argument more convincing.

Lastly, the argument lacks any information about the age demographics of both the cities. Perhaps there are fewer children in Blue City, which would mean that there do not need to be as many public schools as those in Parson City. In this case, it might not be a problem if less of the tax revenue is spent on public schools as long as sufficient tax revenue is spent on the few public schools within the city. If the writer were to provide some age demographic data, his/her argument would be more conclusive about how seriously these cities take their public education.

In conclusion, the writer presents a very shallow argument about why he/she believes that Parson City's residents place greater importance on public education compared to the residents of Blue City. If there was more data to substantiate his/her arguments, it might make the argument more convincing.