The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter to the editor of Parson City’s local newspaper talks about budgetary priorities of two cities which is the fund invested on the public schools for better education of students. The writer concluded that the Parsons City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do. I am not totally agreeing with the conclusion made upon fund collected by tax was double in Parson City than Blue City.

Moreover, it is explained in the letter that both cities have same number of residents, but it is not mentioned clearly that what is the criteria of tax payment. Every country has its own tax policy based on per capita income. About such important points about tax the writer had not mentioned due to which there is strong possibility that the Blue City has a smaller number of people who earn more which comes under taxable limit. That’s why the Parson City spent more fund as Blue City spent.

Additionally, all students don’t study in public schools. The Blue City may have more private schools than public schools and because of that fund spent on public schools were enough to run them properly. In the Parson City the students in public schools may more in number than private schools so they spent more fund on public schools. Before contrasting funds invested on public schools of two cities, the writer should consider number of public schools and strength of students studied there. Because comparison made between similar situations or things.

Furthermore, the writer mentioned that the Parson city spent more money on public schools and provides good education to students. To conclude the level of education on amount expanding on the school seems illogical without knowledge of other factors such as number of students, qualification of teachers, teaching skills of teachers, infrastructure of school and many more. The Blue City spent less amount than Parson City, but it does not mean that the education in Blue City’s public school is not good. There is strong possibility that the Blue City spent enough amount to run public schools effectively.

Conclusively, on the basis of aforementioned evidences it is clear that the argument has flaws and need to check the analysis. There are so many factors which should included before jumped to the conclusion about spending funds by both Cities.