Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this passage, we are informed that Leeville has better health status than Masonton with larger size. Referring to both sick leave status and illness diagnosis statistic, the author ascribes both of two phenomena to the health benefits out of the realtively relaxed pace of life in Leeville. Quite reasonable though such explanation appears at first glance, we can not safely claim that it is the unique one that accounts for the facts presented in the argument. Therefore, we should consider the following explanations, which could rival with the one proposed in the passage.

To start off, the author attributes fewer sick leave to Leeville's superior health status. While people might apply for fewer sick leave as their robust health status, the latter could have sprung from other reasons as well. First of all, it is likely that their companies don't allow them to apply more sick leave or only reserve very limited days for their sick leave in a year. If this is the case, fewer sick leave have little bearing on people's overall health status in Leeville. Consequently, it could be explained as stemming from more strict company's regulation for sick leave or less sick leave allowances. Second, while fewer sick leave might be caused by health status, the health status could not be exclusively attributable to fewer sick leave in practice. Instead, it is of equal likelihood that people in Leeville are enthusiastic for their work and therefore they don't like to apply for leave even with malaise. Once the assertion that people's crazy work attitude proves warranted, the author's underlying logic will be weakened, namely: fewer sick leave in Leeville reflects the fact that people in Leeville have better health status than Masonton.

Furthermore, the less stress-related illness could lend great support to the author's explanation that people in Leeville has been psychological status. However, such outgrowth could be considered not only from better sanity of villagers in Leeville, but also presumably from other explanations as well. One possible reason is that Leeville has much less population than Masonton. Moreover, an alternative account might be that majority of Leevilles have other illness, such as chronic disease, rather than stress-related illness. Without additional investigation, we can not decide which explanation could finally lead to the result of less stress-related illness. It is even likely that all of these aforementioned reasons have conspired to such phenomenon.

Last but not least, while we can admit for a moment that people in Leeville has better corporeal and ethereal status, it is reckless to claim that it is totally determined by the relax pace of life in Leeville. Other explanations could readily compete with the one alleged in the argument. For example, an agreeable environment of town or city could determine how people feel living in there and contributed to their health status. In addition, if government there actually practice a stringent social regulation for residents there, such strict policy might impact residents' mental status, which lead to the worse result of their health report. If any of these reasons could be demonstrated sufficiently, the author's reason about relaxed pace of life in Leeville will be weakened. Otherwise, we can trust the author's reasoning about the cause of these facts.

To draw a conclusion, while pace of life have exerted great influence on people's health status and their illness and work status, in the absence of sufficient information, we can not establish a casual relationship between it and the facts mentioned above. The distinction between Leeville and Masonton in statistics about sick leave and illness diagnosis is such a case for which we should consider more explanations that could account for the facts presented in the argument.