"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The author’s conclusion about the customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants being unaware of the difference between butter and margarine may seem logical at first, but is based on certain assumptions which make it weaker.

The hypothesis of the little impact the replacement of butter with margarine had on customers does not take into account whether these people had already started substituting butter with margarine in their normal diet. Inferring that these people do not know how to distinguish between the two would not be wise as they might intake butter at their homes, thus being awa...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.