The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive

discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption

of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year,

Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than

any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the

neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last

two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms.

The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many

serious gastrointestinal disorders."

According to Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette, the author argues that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders. To buttress his conclusion, the author cites the following evidences: first, many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use; second, Greenhorne hospitals reported fewer cases of serioes gastrointestinal disorder since concumption of matilac supplements has increased a lot over the last seven year; last, Etolin report a steady increase in patients experiencing distressing gastrointestinal symptoms as the sales of supplements are declincing. Though the issue has its own merit, due to unconvincing explanations, the conclusion is unjustified.

To begin with, the result that many consumers experience have dramatic easing of digestive discomfort after matilac usage is not persuasive. Instead, there are many other reasons causing this alleviating. For example, those consumers might eat less and more healthy after experiencing the digestive discomfort. They convert their eating habits to having foods that can be readily digestive, so that it is natural they will feel better. In addition, our bogy machination might have self-recovery processes. The pain brought be digestive discomfort would be reduced greatly due to normal bioactivities inside our body. The author fails to provide the frequency and amount intake of matilacHence. It is likely that people use only a small amount of motilac, which is not sufficient to reduce the discomfort. Therefore, ascribing the relief of pain solely to use of mailac is not grounded.

Moreover, the report from Greennhorne's five hospitals is not credible. During the last seven years, many factors have been changed and all should be taken into account. To illustrate, citizens in Greenhorne pay more attention to health, and so spend more time on exercising every week. The government, additionally, innitated new physical health programs and opened more free playground for the masees over the recent seven years. The effort made both by the Greenhorne's government and its individuals reduces the illness siginificantly. The stronger immune systems brought by frequent exercise are more likely to contribute positively to digestive systems and would be less likely to suffer from serious gastrointestinal disorders.

Last but not least, that reducing sales of motilac in neighboring town of Etolin causes wider range of distressing gastrointestinal symtoms is doubtful. It is plausible that the prices of motilax supplements are much lower in other cities than those in neighboring town, and the distance between those two towns are not large. Thus, people in the neighboring town of Etolin would like to purchase Motilac in other cities for lower prices. The author fails to draw the relationship between the usage of motilac in neighboring town of Etolin to the condition of hospital in Etolin. Does neighboring town has its own hopital and people choose to go here often? Following this way, causal effect is not obvious. So, it is unreliable to attribute the serious gastrointestinal symptoms to the use of motilac. Furthermore, we are not informed about the exact number of change in distressing and usage. If the original distressing is little, then it would still be small even if there is a positive change.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion in the Health section is not reliable since many alternative interpretations that could rival the proposed explanation remain unexamined. To further strengthen the argument, the author is advised to add the evidences as follows: first, whether the reports are all convincing and correct; second, whether other factors leading to the same results.