The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many

consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive

discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption

of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year,

Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than

any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the

neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last

two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms.

The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many

serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account

for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument presented is not convincing. The author concludes that consumption of Motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders based on the trends of two neighbouring residencies and fails to acknowledge several key factors on the basis of which the conclusion could be evaluated such as the duration for which Metilac has been consumed, occurrence of an epidemic and the lack of details of the data used to arrive at the conclusion cast doubts on the author's conclusion. Thereby, resulting in a logical gap between the premise and the conclusion.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that the consumption of Motilac has helped reduce gastrointestinal issues. However, the author overlooks the duration for which Motilac has been consumed. As per the argument, consumption of Motilac in Greenhorne has increased by 80% over a span of eight years. The author fails to mention the time it takes for Motilac to start showing its effects in order to address the gastrointestinal issues. For example, if the medicine must show immediate results, it would be naive to suggest that the drop in gastrointestinal cases were due to the consumption of Motilac. As a result, the contention of the author suggesting Motilac has reduced gastrointestinal issues does not have any concrete evidence.

Secondly, the argument fails to mention an epidemic that could have occurred in Etolin. A key concept omitted in the argument. To illustrate, consider a situation in which due to unfavourable reasons, a widespread gastrointestinal epidemic occurs. In such a circumstance, a reduction in the consumption of Motilac does not play any concrete role in the increase of gastrointestinal diseases. The argument provides no information on such a circumstance. Thereby, implying the author's conclusion is based on more of a wishful thinking than on a substantive evidence.

Thirdly, the argument does not provide any information on the data used in order to arrive at the conclusion. What was the subset of the data used? Was the 80% figure significant enough to extrapolate the conclusion for a population size of Etolin? As no information is provided about these questions, the author fails to establish a proper correlation between the conclusion and the premise.

The author presents a surprising hypothesis. However, the data provided in order to validate the conclusion is inadequate. The long litany of unjustified assumptions seriously jeopardises the conclusion of the author. Thus, evidence supporting the duration span of consumption of medicines, absence of any obvious event causing gastrointestinal problem, and details about the data used to arrive at the conclusion would tighten the link between the premises and conclusion, making the reasoning more sound. Without any discussion of these ideas, however, it is impossible to evaluate the conclusion.