A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Education is the hot button issue of the moment. The topic raises the controversial and complex issue of whether a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Indisputably, one has to acknowledge the complex intricacies involved in a homogenous education system. These difficulties involve language barriers, inability to scale up the education standards in under-developed areas of the nation and lack of availability of professors to cope up with the upgraded national curriculum. Nonetheless, a common national curriculum will propel students to compete at the same platform. Subsequently, obviating any discrepancies in the quality of education available to students across the nation. Thus, I generally agree that a common national curriculum can act as a boon to the students of the country provided it is implemented properly without undue haste.

First of all, consider the impact a common national curriculum would have on the mindset of the students. To illustrate, let us look at an example of a student from a rural part of the country. Due to the nonavailability of good quality education, rural students feel indignant and often feel inferior while competing with the students of the developed and urban areas of the country. A common curriculum shall help students to break these shackles and incite a feeling of competency in them. Eventually, reducing the abnormalities of the education quality provided across the country.

Furthermore, the uniform national curriculum will help simplify the way examinations are conducted across the country. For example, consider a nation having a large number of education boards. In such a circumstance, each board will conduct its own examination. Thereby, due to lack of any common platform, it is generally difficult to judge the performance of the students of the country as the difficulty level varies with each education board. Thus, a common education board will help resolve this issue.

On the contrary, one cannot neglect the complexities that might arise due to the implementation of the common education board. In a vast country, each state might be speaking different languages. In such a situation, having a common education board can be a mountain breaking task. Also, a sudden spike in the quality of education of the under-developed areas of the country can be challenging to implement without proper monetary funds and availability of good quality teachers. However, with slow and paced out development the quality of education can be improved for the betterment of rural area students.

In conclusion, as the education of a country helps reap rich geographic dividends, a common education system will help achieve that goal. However, if not implemented properly it can have detrimental effects on the current education standards. Thereby, jeopardising the whole purpose of the initiative.