In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented is not convincing. The author fails to highlight several keys factors on the basis of which the conclusion could be evaluated. The author concludes that the government should devote more money to the cleaning up of Mason River based on the survey's evidence that Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. However, the author fails to consider several factors such as the subset of the people involved in the survey and the reasons why Mason city residents are not using the Mason river for recreational activities. Thereby, resulting a logical gap between the premise and the conclusion.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that the reason Mason city residents are not using the Mason river only due to the quality of river's water and the river's smell. For example, it is possible that Mason City residents do not use the Mason river as it is not feasible maybe because of its size. Thereby, just cleaning the river will not help resolve the situation. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing had it mentioned the feasibility of the usage of the Mason river for recreational purposes.

The argument fails to ackowledge the budget of cleaning the river, a key concept omitted while arriving at the conclusion. Will the city management be able to meet the budget requirements to clean the river? What is the current state of the river? What procedures or techniques have to be adopted in order to clean the river? There is no answers provided to these questions. Thereby, implying the author's conclusion is based on a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

Finally, the data presented also lacks a depth of detail that would help us to evaluate the significance of the study results. How many people were surveyed? What is the margin of error and how was the study conducted? Is the figure statistically significant? If the study represented a large enough survey group to extrapolate to the general population, across regions, industries and jobs responsibilities, then the study results may be conveying something. If, althernatively, few people were surveyed, then perhaps the survey represented a small number of people, well within the statistical variance expected.

The author presents an interesting hypothesis. However, the long litany of unjustified assumptions seriously jeopardises the certainty of the conclusion. Although, if the author explicitly provided information on the subset of people surveyed and the various reasons involved for Mason City residents not using Mason river, it would help tighten the logical gap between the premise and the conclusion.